District Learning Standards

District Learning Standards

The Baraboo School District has a commitment to excellence. For the 2022-23 school year, we will be using the Common Core State Standards for Math, English Language Arts, and Literacy in All Subjects; Next Generation Science Standards for Science; and Wisconsin Academic Standards or National Standards for all other content areas.

Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards, or CCSS, are a set of consistent English Language Arts and Mathematics expectations for what students should know and be able to do in kindergarten through 12th grade. These standards raise the bar to ensure every child is a graduate, ready for college and career. This essentially means that any student graduating from high school is capable of successfully completing first-year college courses or entering the workforce.

Wisconsin Academic Standards

Wisconsin Academic Standards specify what students should know and be able to do in the classroom. They serve as goals for teaching and learning. Setting high standards enables students, parents, educators, and citizens to know what students should have learned at a given point in time. In Wisconsin, identified state standards serve as a model. However, locally elected school boards adopt academic standards in each subject area to best serve their local community.

Next Generation Science Standards

The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) are K–12 science content standards. These standards set the expectations for what students should know and be able to do. The NGSS were developed by states to improve science education for all students.

The NGSS are a set of research-based, up-to-date K–12 science standards. These standards give local educators the flexibility to design classroom learning experiences that stimulate students’ interests in science and prepares them for college, careers, and citizenship.

Wisconsin Standards for Computer Science

Wisconsin defines Computer Science as "an academic discipline that encompasses the study of computers and algorithmic processes, including their principles, their hardware and software designs, their applications, networks, and their impact on society."

Wisconsin Standards for Financial Literacy

Financial literacy standards allow educators to align instruction and create activities designed to instill students with a desire to be financially literate. The standards are intended to help schools develop programs that provide the knowledge and skills to establish sound financial habits.

Baraboo High School 9-12 Standards and Rubrics

Additional Information

Supporting Documents

Helpful Links